Arizona Archaeological Council

Arizona Legislative Update: SB1338

01/27/2021 17:26 | AAC Admin (Administrator)

Senate Bill 1338, which would transfer permitting responsibility from the Arizona State Museum to the State Historic Preservation Office, is scheduled for a hearing in the Senate Government Committee on Monday, February 1, 2021 at 2:00 P.M. The Senate Government Committee Agenda is here: https://www.azleg.gov/getCurrentPDF/?doctype=A&docid=14996. The bill text is here: https://www.azleg.gov/legtext/55leg/1R/bills/SB1338P.pdf

 

Please join members of the AAC Political Action Committee for a Zoom-based virtual happy hour on Friday January 29 at 4 PM:   https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88127568505?pwd=WUIxMGtQYjREbDBIVDJOcTZRSmNLZz09 (Meeting ID: 881 2756 8505 Passcode: 180341). We will discuss the bill and some of its implications and hear your concerns. We will also give an overview of the Arizona legislature‚Äôs Request to Speak (RTS) system and how you can support or oppose this and other legislation. 


The AAC has also created a members-only forum, where we can debate and discuss sensitive issues together, in a more private online space. The general forum rules topic is at the top, and a new topic has been created if people want to weigh-in on this bill:   http://arizonaarchaeologicalcouncil.org/Forum/10039282 


You may also call or email the committee members (information below).

Name

Position

Phone

Email

Sonny Borrelli

Member (Majority Whip)

(602) 926-5051

SBORRELLI@azleg.gov

Juan Mendez

Member

(602) 926-4124

JMENDEZ@azleg.gov

J.D. Mesnard

Member

(602) 926-4481

JMESNARD@azleg.gov

Jamescita Peshlakai

Member

(602) 926-5160

JPESHLAKAI@azleg.gov

Warren Petersen

Member

(602) 926-4136

WPETERSEN@azleg.gov

Martin Quezada

Member (Minority Whip)

(602) 926-5911

MQUEZADA@azleg.gov

Kelly Townsend

Vice-Chairman

(602) 926-4467

KTOWNSEND@azleg.gov

Michelle Ugenti-Rita

Chairman

(602) 926-4480

MUGENTI-RITA@azleg.gov


© Arizona Archaeological Council
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software